Notifications
Clear all

Solo Rides  

RSS
Johnny Pugh
Estimable Member Ride Leaders

When I worked in the Airline industry, I spent most of my career working second and third shifts with rotating days off. So, I had to do “solo bike rides” for much of my career. I actually enjoyed my solo rides. I could ride as fast or slow as I wanted to, stop when I wanted to and explore new roads and trails.

When I joined TCBC, I couldn’t go on most of the weekend rides or evening rides because of my work conflicts. I would sometimes get a map from a TCBC ride leader and ride the route on my own. I was using early Garmin hand held GPS units at the time and I soon learned how to use Delorme mapping software to create a “track file” that I could download to my Garmin GPS. That made navigating the routes much easier than trying to follow a map or queue sheet.

Now with modern mapping software like Ride with GPS (RWGPS) and dedicated bike GPS units with cycling specific maps, that process is much easier. I can download a route from RWGPS, to my bike GPS unit, with just a single “click” on my computer. The new bike specific maps on my GPS have all of the roads, bike trails and even mountain bike trails, so all routes that I have downloaded seem to work great and are easy to follow.

I have also tried the RWGPS app on my phone and that also works great. The only problem is you have to be a paid member of RWGPS to download maps from their site to your phone. If you want to use your phone for this, I think a membership to RWGPS is a good investment.